What is the Cosmos Award? The Planetary Society created this award, named after our co-founder Carl Sagan’s landmark television series, The Cosmos, to honor the innovators who follow his example of presenting science in an accurate, yet entertaining and enthralling way.


Past recipients of the Cosmos Award for Outstanding Public Presentation of Science include filmmaker James Cameron, for his stellar IMAX films, Paula Apsell, senior executive producer of the Emmy-award winning series NOVA, Dr. Stephen Hawking, for his lifetime of dedication to engaging the public on the most profound questions of our existence, and Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson, for his outstanding work on the television series Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey.

The winner of 2016 Cosmos Award was presented to Dr. Alan Stern and the New Horizons team for their captivating storytelling during their historic Pluto flyby mission.