As of 2018, The Expanse is made of up seven novels and six shorter works. The latter, to date, consists of two prequel short stories and four novellas. Further novels are planned, as well as two more novellas. The series was adapted for television by the Syfy Network, also under the title of The Expanse. The series premiered on streaming services on November 23, 2015, and on Syfy on December 14, 2015. Syfy did not renew The Expanse for a fourth season, but on May 26, 2018, Jeff Bezos announced that Amazon would be picking up the series
Featured image: Orbit Books

Ty Franck and Daniel Abraham are interviewed at ‘Talks at Google’. Together, they write the Expanse series of space adventure novels under the penname James S.A. Corey.


Daniel James Abraham is an American science fiction and fantasy author who lives in Albuquerque, New Mexico. He is a graduate of Clarion West and sometimes collaborates with George R. R. Martin, another New Mexico resident.

Daniel is the author of the critically-acclaimed Long Price Quartet. His short stories have appeared in numerous publications and anthologies. His novelette Flat Diane was nominated for the Nebula Award and won the International Horror Guild award. His novelette, The Cambist, and Lord Iron: A Fairytale of Economics, was nominated for the Hugo Award in 2008 and was also nominated for a World Fantasy award.

Ty Franck has spent most of his life in the West and Southwest. He developed the world of The Expanse series as the setting for a massively multiplayer online role-playing game. He has broken rocks at a quarry, built masts for sailboats, sold newspaper and radio ads, worked as a reporter, renovated high-rises, served as director of operations for Northgate Computers, and co-founded a financial software consulting firm. Franck began publishing SF with the story ”Audience” in Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine Show. This qualified him to join the professional writing group Critical Mass, where he met Daniel Abraham. He also has contributed several stories to the recent Wild Cards series created by George R. R. Martin.