The winners of the Nobel chemistry prize: Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson. Photograph:

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2017 to Jacques Dubochet at the University of Lausanne, Switzerland, Joachim Frank at the Columbia University in New York, USA, and Richard Henderson MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology at Cambridge, UK “for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution”.